Inner Child

V&A Museum of Childhood

Today’s ST Youthink  (Pg D8) carried a short piece by Vanessa Jalleh, Learning from my inner child. She wrote about the school-work transition. I love her closing thoughts,

“I look back at the earliest changes in my life, when I adapted easily, through all the times my family moved from one place to another. I think that maybe, as I become more of an adult, it is the child in me that I need to learn from.”

Hear, hear!

What is it about growing up (and older) that causes our inner child to shut up in all senses of the word? I know a few people who successfully nurture their inner child, and it shows in an unusual vibrancy and hopefulness with which they go about their lives. They retain a curiosity where you might otherwise have cynicism; a learningful posture rather than a holier-than-thou, smartest-person-in-the-room stance; and emotive empathy rather than stoic acceptance. I admire them; they are living reminders that I must not neglect my inner child.

In Contrast Redux

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

