See an idea?

How do you ‘see’ your ideas? Some people I know think in text. Some think in formulas. Some think by hearing – hence they talk to themselves, or sound others out a lot. Others think through action – the idea forms itself as they do something, be it doodle, fiddle with stuff, scratch their heads etc… Β I tend to think in pictures. Even when I do mental sums – I actually see the numbers appear in white text against a black background, in my head. When I need to ‘carry over’ numbers in summation, I literally see the digits being carried over, in my mind.

So the most natural way of explaining a facilitation idea that I had today at work, was to draw it. I drew what I was seeing in my head. I could ‘see’ the actual facilitation event too – how it would be set up, exactly what furniture and materials we would use and where they would be placed, where the facilitator would stand, how he/she would move, what the group’s energy would be etc.

Made it much easier to textually explain the thingum.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

2 comments

  1. πŸ™‚ when i was drawing it, I was reminded of a strip that you drew for your LSC last year. U rem that?

  2. ame

    it’s your gift πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

