A Young One’s Tears

“My fear of failure.”

“Have I volunteered for more than what I can handle? What if both end up not done well?”

A bowl of soupy noodles. Crispy “swallow dumplings”. An honest expression… Realisation? Crystals in her eyes, shimmering. Bravely blinking them back. I saw myself, a much younger me, in the reflection of her watery gaze.

“Your awareness is a first step”. You have choices: to push/stop yourself. You can choose. Choose well.

Will she have to learn the hard way? Maybe not. She seems to like her sleep and leisure well enough. I hope. Enough to not be overwhelmed by a sense of achievement and youthful aspiration.

 

*

 

So this is why yesterday’s lesson in Romans 4 stood out. I was feeling quite sick, half-wondering if it was a mistake to go for class. But. Lesson on FAITH. Today I understand the lesson. After watching a young one tear over lunch. Faith – not in my abilities, situation, plain optimism, other people, past track record, words of encouragement/comfort. But IN CHRIST. That faith will help me to choose well. Walk well. Live well.

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

