Well-timed

A meeting today. A realisation. Reminded of advice from and perspectives of a few men I respect much. Knew the decision I had to make – and perhaps continually make in this year out. Well-timed.

A lunch. A reflection. Reminded of a comforting truth highlighted during service yesterday. Shared it, and it resonated with my friend, speaking into her tiredness while waiting amidst ordinary-ness. Well-timed.

An afternoon in a book warehouse. Didn’t do what I had gone there for. Prompted to do a strange thing when I got there – prayed for God to show me which books to pick up. I picked up five. The amazing one – I came across this very thin title called Sabbatical Journey (Henri Nouwen), at the bottom of a dusty shelf. It was the only copy left, and looked like it had been misplaced. It didn’t even have a price tag! I bought it. Well-timed.

A conversation over tea. Then a ‘bad’ call to take a long-winded route home. But. It wasn’t all bad. Watched a young lady mother her 3 young sons with such love that it made me reflect for a long time about journeys and destinations, and impatience that blinds me to the gifts of the moment. My series of ‘free will’ decisions that led to a long-winded route, which created a space where I was reminded of love, divine sovereignty and a resting heart. Well-timed.

 

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

