Preserved by Grace

Everyone is familiar with this hymn. Sung at funerals and other important life occasions. Sometimes with sobriety, sometimes with gratitude, sometimes with hopefulness. Sung a cappella, with piano accompaniment, even vocal acrobatics. But I heard this side of it today for the first time:

We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise

Than when we’d first begun

Reminded me of a Spurgeon devotional from Friday :- God preserves us till completion. If we have another earthly day, then we can be sure He is overseeing it totally and benignly. If it is our last earthly day, then we can breathe a huge sigh of relief that we are finally going home. From the beginning till the end, the number of our days – already known, already written, already purposed, already significant (Ps 139:16). No more, no less than when we first started. What a comfort!

 

For what then, are we preserved?

 

I love The Sunday Times, because it often gives me food for thought. I love the more reflective mood of some of the columns, even the feature articles. Today was no exception. On the front page, two things resonated:

“All the career in the world can’t buy you a life,” – Mrs Jennifer Yeo. She put her legal career on hold when her fourth child was diagnosed with leukaemia.

“Friends are more important than anything material” – Dr Lee Wei Ling, a regular contributor to the Think column.

 

Reminded me of a 4 Feb journal entry, which I’d written when the season was changing:

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us. – Gandalf the Grey. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

No leaf falls without God’s knowledge. … God has never been surprised. Not once. – Max Lucado

Dear Lord, thank You that my days are not forgotten to You. Each one is so important that You wrote it down, with Your own hand. My name is in Your book and Your love is written across every page of my life. For all my days, may I remember You with the same passion that You remember me. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.


As Thou hast died for me, O may my love to Thee,

Pure, warm and changeless be, a living fire!


 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

