Cookie

A few years back, I read Wally Amos’ The Cookie Never Crumbles. I loved the book – not just for the occasional recipe that would come up in the pages, but also the stories he told about adversity-turned-blessing.

It’s much easier to say than to live out, but it is true that blessings are hidden in challenges. Sometimes they come in the midst of trial, as a respite and encouragement, however small. Other times, the blessings are only apparent after a period of reflection, mental and emotional distancing from the adversarial events. And sometimes, the blessings aren’t even yours to keep – they are the effects and impact that your response(s) to adversity have had on others who are watching/affected.

The crumbs of the cookie (or as Wally would say, it doesn’t crumble – you just get many smaller cookies!) don’t always look like ‘blessings’ – well, not in the usual forms of health, wealth and laughter all day long.

I’ve had the blessing of seeing myself for who I am, warts and wits.

I’ve had the blessing of discovering my boundaries.

I’ve had the blessing of ordinary, monotonous days that have neither fanfare nor fire.

I’ve had the blessing of knowing and being part of another person’s life more deeply than an occasional coffee or everyday conversation allow.

I’ve had the blessing of praying for others and seeing mountains moved.

And I’ve had the blessing of Christ telling me again and again – in more ways than I can remember – how crazy He is about me.

That last bit alone, is worth dunking to 🙂

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

