Not pedestrian

Was standing on a no man’s land today when I learnt something from a busy traffic junction, and pedestrian lights that refused to cooperate with my ‘green all the way’ plan.

By “no man’s land”, I mean the small space you stand at while waiting for a second consecutive pedestrian light to give you the go-ahead. Was anxious because I was running late for lunch. The second pedestrian light was green, but the first was red. So I waited. By the time the first light turned green and I skipped across, the second one went red. So I stopped – at no man’s land.

Watching the busy traffic go past (and hoping no drowsy driver would accidentally ride the curb and send me heavenward for lunch), I saw parallels for my meanders with Him.

A)

“I don’t know why I’m suddenly in this holding space. I’m certain this is the way to go. He opened the doors! I’ve come this far.  Then why do I not seem to hear or sense His OK for the next phase? Why can’t I move forward? Did I hear wrongly?… Maybe I should try to dash across. It can’t hurt; I can run quickly enough. Can’t afford to lose any time, and we’re already so close anyway!”

B)

“I see it… but why can’t we start and get there sooner – like, NOW?… Why do I have to wait? What am I waiting for? For how long? If I don’t quickly cross now, the end might change and I’ll miss the timing and opportunity… Oh, it’s painful to see that in the horizon and yet be so far from it still…”

C)

“OK, I get it. Don’t go there, right? Double confirmed. Roger.”

D)

“You are a dangerous God! I’m amazed by Your divine orchestration. Kairos. Your design, Your timing. Look at what happens when I coordinate with You! When You move, You MOVE. … O, what a mystery/ Meekness and majesty/ Bow down and worship/ For this is your God! This is your God!”

The Christian disciple.

A not-pedestrian life.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

