Last & first words

At the end of each day, what are your last words?

When another day begins, what are your first ones?

I’ve thought about morning and evening questions before. Today my attention was drawn to evening and morning prayers – as the last and first things we utter in our wakeful hours. I have drawn strength from evening prayers/passages in the Bible when I sit up through sleepless nights. I have also renewed hope from morning prayers/passages in the Bible when I open my eyes to challenging days. Here are some of them:

In the evening

Tremble, and do not sin (me: remember the Lord and who He is!); Meditate in your heart upon your bed, and be still. Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and trust in the Lord. … You have put gladness in my heart, more than when their grain and new wine abound. In peace I will both lie down and sleep, For You alone, O LORD, make me to dwell in safety. – Ps 4:4-8

I will praise the LORD, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. – Ps 16:7

Weeping may last for the night, but a shout of joy comes in the morning. – Ps 30:5

By day the LORD directs his love, at night his song is with me— a prayer to the God of my life. – Ps 42:8

When I remember You on my bed, I meditate on You in the night watches, For You have been my help, And in the shadow of Your wings I sing for joy. My soul clings to You; Your right hand upholds me. – Ps 63:6-8

They who dwell in the ends of the earth stand in awe of Your signs; You make the dawn and the sunset shout for joy. – Ps 65:8

The day is yours, and yours also the night; you established the sun and moon. – Ps 74:16

You will not be afraid of the terror by night, Or of the arrow that flies by day; Of the pestilence that stalks in darkness, Or of the destruction that lays waste at noon. – Ps 91:5-6

In the night, LORD, I remember your name, that I may keep your law. – Ps 119:55

In the morning

In the morning, O LORD, You will hear my voice; In the morning I will order my prayer to You and eagerly watch (NKJV: look up). – Ps 5:3

But as for me, I shall sing of Your strength; Yes, I shall joyfully sing of Your lovingkindness in the morning, For You have been my stronghold and a refuge in the day of my distress. – Ps 59:16

But I cry to you for help, LORD; in the morning my prayer comes before you. – Ps 88:13

O satisfy us in the morning with Your lovingkindness, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. – Ps 90:14

It is good to give thanks to the LORD and to sing praises to Your name, O Most High; To declare Your lovingkindness in the morning and Your faithfulness by night, – Ps 92:1-2

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. – Ps 143:8

He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being instructed. – Isa 50:4

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.” – Lam 3:22-24

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. – Mk 1:35

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

