Pruning

Whatever leads you to God is in like manner a blessing indeed. Anything that draws you nearer to Him is a blessing indeed. What if it be a cross that raises you? Yet if it raises you to God, it shall be a blessing indeed. … Your oneness to Christ and all that comes of it – these are blessings indeed. – C.H. Spurgeon

When I pray that God be glorified in me, I am in fact asking God to enable me to be a disciple better, and to bear much fruit (John 15:8). But these can only come about if I first abide (remain) in Him. If I am sincerely praying that God be glorified, then I must truly desire to be a disciple, to bear fruit and to abide in Him. And if that is so, then I must prepare to be pruned (a rich metaphor worth reflecting upon and taking to heart). Pruning by the Lord is a life-giving reality; without it, there cannot be more fruit (John 15:2).

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

