If Only…

… many of my days can be like today.

Today I was doing what I love. I may not be very good at it, and have to work hard at it, but I love it.

Someone said to me at the end of today, “You must be exhausted from all that!” My reply, “It’s good fun!” – internally, I realised I was tired in my body but not in my spirit. I felt energized. This was after a 4-hour marathon session. I was doing what I love. While I was at it, I was at the same time plugged into everything happening in the room, as well as oblivious to them. It sounds strange, but it’s true.

Today I was also being pruned. Came face to face with a great challenge. As with all great challenges, no one ever sees its depth the way you do. No one feels its unique grief, hears its painful message, or experiences its bittersweet flashbacks. So, no one can provide a solution or undo the knots. Only the Lord truly knows and understands. And He ensured I could stand up in the midst of it – and learn to surrender with gratitude and joy. As I was being pruned, the Lord dealt with me very tenderly.

*

So I wish that in future, many of my days can be like today.

Where I am doing what I love.

Where I gain the sweet satisfaction of having learnt to walk with the Lord in joyful surrender.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

