Memories@Temasek

Met up with someone I respect a lot, and had a lively discussion about an infographic. Only realised after I left that that was probably the last time I would see him in his current capacity. Am glad that he is going where he is going – hardpressed to think of a better person to carry that responsibility. Not just because he’s smart, but because of who he is as a person. I pray for him that the result that matters will be a wise one. But I will miss being able to call on him for a meet-up this easily. It’s an honour to have worked for him before.

While mulling over this, had to mentally switch to this crazy thing I’ve offered to do. Venue recce – met with PL. Looks like we’ll be able to do 3′ x 5′. Just need to cut up paper beforehand. Doubt the plan will be ready early enough for any preps. He told me GK will be in next week. Perhaps I should see if there’s time to meet outside of the masterclass, just to catch up.

Venue was close to another place that’s special to me, so I took a walk. Not scenic, but it’s a place that holds a lot of memories because it was my first workplace.ย I have very beautiful memories of this season.

Ran my first programmes there – and the alumni of one programme are celebrating their 10th anniversary reunion the week after ๐Ÿ™‚

Made my first workplace friends there – and some still walk with me today! ๐Ÿ™‚

Had my first crazy office parties there.

Conducted my first facilitation session there.

Also made my first (and certainly not last!) gloriously glaring work mistakes there – ย and was forgiven by my first work team there ๐Ÿ™‚ And patiently guided by my first supervisor there.

It was the place that said, “Give the girl a chance.”… It was the place where ‘running around in circles’ took on a new meaning… It was a place that spoilt me, because it set an impossible example of a workplace culture for subsequent workplaces to follow.

I stood looking at the building for a long while. And walked away feeling extremely grateful for the journey. From one Treasury to another, the journey has been one filled with grace and mercy, second chances, and countless precious lessons. Treasuries they truly are.

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

