I Am Carried

Was a Scripture verse that triggered an old Geoff Bullock song in my head. Went to dig up the old albums and found more than just that song. I also unearthed a track that, for a long while, was hard to listen to.

I remember listening to this track over and over in the very last stretch of 1997. This was the year that Silkair MI185 crashed into the Musi River. Three of the teachers from my alma mater were on that flight; they were heading back earlier to bid a final farewell to a 4th teacher who had suddenly passed on. It was such a great, great shock; and such overwhelming grief.

I don’t recall the details fully now, but I remember heading back to school earlier that year with XT. We might have been back there as alumni to support a Choir Camp – I recall it was during the school holidays. Maybe Band was having a camp at the same time – for some reason, Ms K was around too. It was late at night, and XT and I were out searching for lost sheep I think – all the time, being the silly girls we were. Somehow we ended up chatting with Ms K in the staff room for quite a bit. We wouldn’t have known that that would be our last conversation with her.

14 years have passed since that tragedy. I hear this song and I remember them. I remember what the teachers in my time taught us by the way they lived their lives – lives of faithfulness, love and kindness. They inspired many of us to seek to live our lives that way too, wherever the Lord would place our feet and open our paths. For that I will always be grateful.

 

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

