Basil basics

Who would have thought that in sunny Singapore, it would be so much harder to find Asian/Thai basil compared to Italian/sweet basil?! Oh, the delicious ironies of life!

Am glad I decided to do a trial run of the party food today. Can you imagine if I just went and did it all for the first time on party day? Would be so stressed trying to find the elusive Asian basil!

2 hours, 7 markets. That’s how long it took to find the sneaky spice. Started up North, headed down South. Of all Sundays, dressed-up Sundays from backup duties. Heels + midday sun + almost-empty-markets-after-morning-crowd = little chance of success and slow walking. Sigh.

I was even prepared to buy the plant – if I could find it. Googled as I walked, and several esteemed forums shared that it would be easier to find the whole plant than small packets of herb for cooking. Sure, I’ll do that. Just show me where to find it!

Eventually found it, ironically, right under my nose. Holland Village Market. “Yah, we have it, lots, every week!” Well. Perhaps the journey itself was necessary and instructive – every stop I made, my resolve became stronger. Especially after a few stallowners shook their heads and told me, “you can’t find it one lah – very hard!”. And the fact that I came full circle till I was very close to home to find it just reminded me that the very thing we seek could be right before us.

Sweet scent of success.

No wonder it’s also called holy basil – that was some pilgrimage! :p

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

2 comments

  1. Carol

    Great job Wendy!
    Never one to let things just sit are you? Makes for a more interesting existence though.

    Rev. Murray shared with us today about his pilgrimage to Iona in Europe this past summer.
    Great place to go I guess if you are the minister.- Very meaningful to him!!

    All of us have similar things in our lives that we hope to do one day I’m sure.

    Harold Beach was back at DC today on his own!!
    Hope that all is proceeding well for him.

    Do continue to pray for him please.

    Not much news here with me though-Same old, same old.

    Blessings,
    Carol

    • Hey Carol! 🙂

      Haha, no just that the basil was critical for the dish… so I just had to find it.

      James does very interesting stuff – is he going to tell more stories? So what did he share about what he learnt or reflected upon? I miss his teaching.

      Good to hear about Harold. How’s Pat Beach though?

Leave a Reply

