Safety

No matter where I go, I am always in His eyes. Eyes that look down from heaven, into my deepest parts. Where even I don’t have the heart to look, His eyes hold on to my deepest parts. With love and tenderness. That is how much He sympathises.

Steven Curtis Chapman songs this morning. They bring back memories of a time I’d rather forget, yet also remember with gratitude. A friend comforted me with these songs during a time when I moved from a place of danger, prolonged ostracization and rejection (a few close friends even called it “cruelty”) to a place of safety and inclusiveness.

I remember being very touched by the simple embrace of the friends I made in the new place. There was an event where we all prepared caricatures of ourselves. The folks I was seated with were in the same team and they pinned up their pictures together on a common wall that was behind my cubicle. They asked me to put mine up too. “No need lah, I’m not part of your team anyway…” “No lah, it’s ok! You’re our friend!” So simple, yet so meaningful. I thank God for their friendship and acceptance.

The friend who shared these songs with me told me they’d helped her many times in her journey. Reminded her that regardless of what happens, God sees and knows, and we have a sure and safe Hiding Place.

*

 

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

