Wildcards (I)

Project S – done faster than I’d planned or thought possible. Good.

Now for the more important segments. One more run-up.

How many times in your life have you had low-probability, high-impact events that completely took you by surprise? Or weak indicators of change that you missed?

Sometimes, I find it hard to distinguish when I’m rationalising with the benefit of hindsight, and when I’m gaining wisdom from reflecting properly on things past. I also wonder if I have become smarter in differentiating noise from signal. How many times have I over-read to my own detriment… or ignored at my own peril?

I think (based on current hindsight ;p) that the season past was a result of both over-reading of the immediate, and intentional ignorance of the significant. The season past was a wildcard in the story of my life. Thankfully, by the grace and mercy of God, what started as a black swan becomes more and more a dove of peace and life with each recollection.

Wouldn’t exchange the lessons I’ve learnt for anything in the world.

Especially not on hindsight 😉

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

