Amazingly Silly

Today was such a mixed day.

I had conversations today where I was simply amazed.

Amazed at the power God displays through a believing, praying woman who chooses to depend on Him and hold on to His truth and instruction. Reminded that whole households are saved because of that. Certain testimony of the redemptive, renewing power of God – to raise even dead spirits and bodies to new life. Amazed at what she said to me,

“I just want Wendy to be well.”

Amazed to see and hear another miracle. Incredible to visually trace the delicate posture of that new life. I have never heard a more beautiful heartbeat. God is the Creator and Sustainer of Life. Good to be reminded, especially in a trying time.

Amazed also at how silly I was today in a conversation. Muddle-headed. Was careless towards a friend. Uncalled-for rudeness.

Amazed at a sudden hello – a friend whose presence calmed me and brought me great joy. She said she didn’t know what to say, but I thought she said it so well. It described exactly how I felt! Reminded me that today, for a while, I’d lifted my eyes off God. And look at how amazingly silly my thoughts became!

O, the ‘peril’ of knowing dependence on the Lord! – that once I unwittingly detach myself from that dependence, if even for a breath, I unravel rapidly! I have lost all ability to be ‘clever’ independent of the Lord, and the only time I make any sense is when I’m abiding in Him.

Sigh. Such a mixed day. Am glad it’s over. God has been merciful.

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

