Sweet mystery

 

“By focusing our attention on seemingly menial tasks performed by people whose lives were otherwise mundane and uneventful, the stories of the church conspire to teach us that though the world is indeed a stage on which human beings make their entrances and exits, as Shakespeare claimed, God takes special interest in the every role. The sheer number of names in the very pages of the Bible and the countless ordinary, unnamed individuals through whom God has accomplished his purposes in the world testify to that. Thus though my role may not seem as glamorous as the roles played by others, it is an indispensable piece of the larger puzzle in the mind of God.” – RZIM

God moves in a mysterious way
His wonders to perform;
He plants His footsteps in the sea,
And rides upon the storm.

Deep in unfathomable mines
Of never failing skill
He treasures up His bright designs
And works His sovereign will.

Ye fearful saints, fresh courage take;
The clouds ye so much dread
Are big with mercy and shall break
In blessings on your head.

Judge not the Lord by feeble sense,
But trust Him for His grace;
Behind a frowning providence
He hides a smiling face.

His purposes will ripen fast,
Unfolding every hour;
The bud may have a bitter taste,
But sweet will be the flower.

Blind unbelief is sure to err
And scan His work in vain;
God is His own interpreter,
And He will make it plain.

— William Cowper

*

The Lord is a sweet mystery.. Who can fathom His thoughts, ways and plans?

Tangential, but hearing a very important story yesterday made me think about the extent of the Lord’s sight of things. It’s almost silly to say it this way – because the Lord really has no extent! He is infinite, and has infinite sight. Nothing measures it.

Hearing what I did, from this point and place in our histories, filled me with gratitude, awe, and assurance again: He will see to it.

I wonder what He’s seeing that isn’t time for me to know yet.

 

“I’ve never told you?”

“No… well, at least not the full story. So tell me…”

“Ah. So… but you know that it was because of Diana?”

“Yes, that I remember. A birthday party, right? And then?”

“Yah… … … so I was the last one dropped off. He asked for my number. I said ok, but I don’t have a phone.”

“Haha, nice way to decline!”

“No, seriously, we didn’t have a phone at home. I gave him my office number.”

“Oh i see. Good strategy in any case, skarly it turned out he was a creep… and then, and then?”

“Then I came back, and his friends asked me, where were you?! He was so moody the whole weekend!…”

“hahahahaha”

“Then they told me, go and meet his parents. And I thought: ok, meet, meet lor.”

“What do you mean – meet, meet lor?! Parents leh! You didn’t realise what that means?”

“I didn’t think very hard I think, just went along…”

“You really very innocent leh..”

“Hey, I was only 18/19! But his parents were very excited that I was visiting.”

“Yah, so we went to ROM.”

“You mean he didn’t, never did, propose?!”

“No.”

“So Singaporean! Bah. Pfftt!”

“Hahahaha… but it was funny. Your grandfather also very blur. Everything the person asked him, he just kept saying yes yes yes. …. Then the person asked him, ‘Do you object to this union?’ and he went on nodding his head and said yes yes yes… and everyone present was shocked!!! Yes, you object – at this stage?! So the person asked the question carefully again, and this time Grandfather quickly said, no no no…”

*ROFL* for next 10min…

“Yah, it’s amazing huh? I was only 19, 21 when we married… Sometimes I wonder what things would be like now if I’d seen more of the world.”

“Who knows? … You were so innocent, so trusting. There’s a chance you might have been taken advantage of by some really bad person. There were such guys, right? You told me before…”

“Yes, there were.”

“See… anyway, if you ask me, I’d say you did the right thing. Otherwise I wouldn’t be standing here in the kitchen listening to you tell this story now! hahahaha…”

😉


 

 

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

  1. HB

    love your story….

    send my regards to your folks…

    merry x’mas….

    i miss u…..

Leave a Reply

