A “Chungking Express”

Today I read a friend’s unvaledictory report draft.

He writes beautifully – it was such a treat to read! Made me think of the few memories I have of the body of work he referenced, and a lot about the fundamentals he touched on via the lens of his personal experiences. I sympathised, empathised and was inspired by the things he shared with so much honesty and conviction. So proud of him for having distilled all that experience into something that will live on.

One of the first things he said was: Everyone needs their “Chungking Express”. Couldn’t stop grinning when I read that. I knew exactly what he meant, and I knew that our common friends (The Backbenchers) would also know exactly what he was trying to say. …

Chugging along with the analogy, I recalled at least 2 ‘frivolous’ projects that have been sitting somewhere in my mind. One is much older than the other, but both are inspired by The Backbenchers (and people who love them) 🙂

Express #1: 24 hours

This ‘frivolity’ currently exists as a yellowed Post-it on an NPL board that I set up in Feb. It simply reads: “24 hours in Singapore infographic. c.f. PY. thenounproject”. It just fell along the wayside, overtaken by a few other things. Each time I read the Post-it, I can quickly list the key things that need to be put in place to get it going. … It was an FB post by a Backbencher that reminded me of Express #1 today, and a related Express #1.1 – go look for a typography class!

Express #2: Write and draw for kids

This idea has popped up several times, the latest being a somewhat random conversation about illustrating children’s books that have strong Christian themes. I don’t think I’m up to writing for kids, although I really like reading books that are seemingly written for kids but contain deeper lessons for adults. Even business fables are quite interesting. … Came across a book today that made me think about this ‘frivolity’ again:

And some related titles/links:

From Cover to Cover: Evaluating and Reviewing Children’s Books

It’s a Book (Lane Smith) – trailer

Minders of Make-Believe

Writing Picture Books: A Hands-On Guide from Story Creation to Publication

Show and Tell: Exploring the Fine Art of Children’s Book Illustration

5 Children’s Books for Grown-Ups

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

