All Things New

Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord,
so walk in Him, having been firmly rooted and now being built up in Him
and established in your faith, just as you were instructed,
and overflowing with gratitude. – Col 2:6-7

*

Give & Receive. 

With open hands I stand before You, O Lord, and the New Year. Ready to receive.

Blessings that come through prosperity as well as adversity.
Blessings that come in pleasure as well as in pain.
Blessings that come in health as well as sickness.
Blessings that come through healing as well as brokenness.
Blessings that come in restedness as well as restlessness.
Blessings that come through relief as well as suffering.
Blessings that come in fidelity as well as betrayal.
Blessings that come in community as well as solitude.
Blessings that come through fulfilled needs as well as unmet desires.
Blessings that come through surprises as well as dis-appointments.
Blessings that come from addition as well as loss.
Blessings that come in fitful sleep as well as insomnia.
Blessings that come in strength as well as weaknesses.
Blessings when I hear His voice, and blessings still when I can’t feel Him near.

Because You are with me, and because every last word in Your Word is true, I am blessed. 

With open hands, I steady myself also to receive:

 Responsibility that You decide I should bear.
Enabling to do the things You want me to do.
Direction to go where You determine I should step.
Wisdom to keep in step with You and Your divine rhythm.
Correction when You rein me back in.
Tutelage that I may grow in righteousness and Your likeness.
Joy and peace, regardless of how illogical they seem for the circumstance.
(You’re not exactly conventional anyway, are You?)

Because You are with me, and I abide in You, I know wholeness – Shalom.

 With open hands I give to You what is already Yours –
me.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

