A Friend Speaks

Oil and perfume make the heart glad, so a man’s counsel is sweet to his friend. – Prov 27:9

For the despairing man there should be kindness from his friend;
So that he does not forsake the fear of the Almighty. – Job 6:14

A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity. – Prov 17:17

I received honesty, objectivity and generosity from a friend today. I appreciate her. I can trust her to look out for the right and good. Not be led by caprice. But with intelligent consideration & sensitivity, to speak with love. Yes – it wasn’t an honesty that wounded, but an honesty that edified & encouraged.

Very glad – it was an answered prayer.

For a while after, I wondered if I should have spoken with her sooner than I did.

But.

There’s a time and place for every conversation.

I think today was the right time. Any sooner, and I might not have been prepared to receive her objectivity. Any later, and I might again not have been prepared. But today, I was ready.

[Afternote: Her well-grounded objectivity made me reflect a bit on what makes a real friend; or, how a real friend speaks. I like what this blog post highlights: the timing and method matter too.]

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

