Day of Courage

It was a day of Courage.

My instinctive feeling was – kickback. Felt like progress undone. How long it took to get here… and then this. Getting thrown back like this is at least a bit discouraging. But for some reason, this kept playing in my head – from early in the morning:

Blessed Assurance (Third Day)

 

So I am comforted.

*

I might have caught the 1st screening, during the time between. Less than 10 people. Just as well – was crying unglamorous buckets. Excellent. Everyone should watch it – and support their brothers/husbands/fathers in making personal meaning & commitment after it. To be real men – by God’s definition. Lots for women to think about too: what they will hold the men in their lives to – brothers/husbands/fathers, even friends and co-workers. (And, if they dare to extrapolate further, whether they are themselves committed to being real women – by God’s definition.)

“Thanks for your integrity. It’s rare.”

Choose integrity, choose selfless vulnerable love – and ask God for help to live that way courageously.

*

Quite timely to pick up where I left off in Sabbatical Journey, with this entry by Henri Nouwen:

“I deeply feel my own responsibility. It does make a difference how I live my life. It does make a difference where I go, with whom I speak, and what I write. Yes, my life is very short and seems so insignificant in the context of our immense universe. But seeing what I saw today and hearing what I heard today, I experience a great desire to live with as much integrity, as much clarity, and as much courage as I can.”

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

