365th

Exactly one year ago, I was in a very different place. More specifically, doing the last bits of packing to leave the place I was at.

During that last lap, I remember:

– being surprised;
– seeing the best of a team emerging;
– baking my butt off for people I was going to miss having everyday nearness with;
– smiling like a fool at the adorable genius of some friends I consider to be gems of the Service; and
– being moved by very sweet gestures from darn bright colleagues.

And on the 1st day after it was all done, I sat down in a new space and continuing wondering.

Believe it or not – it’s been 365 days since that “will take a while to find my bearings” sentiment.

Wow.

It doesn’t feel like a year. Feels like much longer.

So much has happened. So much… good. Even through events & circumstances that felt like anything but.

God has been so good, so merciful, so tender and so generous in His instruction, rebuke, correction, guiding and self-revelation.

It is quite an experience to be standing at the 365th day – looking back in amazement.

And looking ahead with wonder.

Oddly enough, I find myself saying exactly the same thing now: “Will take a while to find my bearings.”

*

“… the call comes from a place that we do not know, that the demands placed on us will be more than we ever expected, and that if we knew what was in store, we would never have said yes. These are excellent tests for the pursuit of what matters.” – Peter Block, The Answer to How is Yes 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

