It was good for me

“The LORD is my portion; I have promised to keep Your words.
I sought Your favour with all my heart; Be gracious to me according to Your word (v57-58)…
I am a companion of all those who fear You, And of those who keep Your precepts.
The earth is full of Your lovingkindness, O LORD; Teach me Your statutes.
You have dealt well with Your servant, O LORD, according to Your word.
Teach me good discernment and knowledge, For I believe in Your commandments (v63-66)…
With all my heart I will observe Your precepts. …
It is good for me that I was afflicted, That I may learn Your statutes. (v69, 71)
Your hands made me and fashioned me; Give me understanding, that I may learn Your commandments.
May those who fear You see me and be glad, Because I wait for Your word.
I know, O LORD, that Your judgments are righteous, And that in faithfulness You have afflicted me.
O may Your lovingkindness comfort me, According to Your word to Your servant.
May Your compassion come to me that I may live, For Your law is my delight. (v73-77)…”
– Ps 119

—–

LORD, You are indeed my portion. I have sought to seek You with all my heart; in Your great mercy You have not despised my feeble efforts. Instead, You have held me steadfastly through every dark night and uncertain morning.

You have constantly reminded me that You do not see as man sees.

You have delighted in revealing Yourself to me creatively, and seeing me find You – and being surprised beyond speech and thought each time.

You have laughed heartily as You lavished me with Your tenderness.

You have girded me with the truth, light & healing that is Your Word; with the priceless friendship of those who fear You; with the counsel of who keep Your precepts; and with boundaries that You lovingly hold in place.

You have dealt with me as You knew necessary – so that I would gain discernment, knowledge and understanding, and grow in doing what is right and good in Your sight.

I can say as the psalmist did, that “my suffering was good for me, for it taught me to pay attention to your decrees” (Ps 119:71, NLT).

Because You are the same yesterday, today and forever, I know You will do all these again. By Your great love, I am not consumed; by Your compassion and lovingkindness I will live.

Thank You that I am Yours. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

*

Your Love (Parachute Band)

 

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

