Lent (I)

 

 

Gift from CL – her writing’s in there too 🙂 Behind by a week, but no worries. Whatever I need to hear, know and learn, God will see to it that I do, in time.

Jesus Christ, the ultimate reality of our lives. Lent is therefore a time for us to re-align our lives with Jesus and the call He makes upon our lives… fast from our idols, our addictions and our toys. (Bishop Dr Robert Solomon)

LORD, to know You… above hungers, ambitions, desires, and to-do lists… To look deeply at You again, into Your eyes as You look into mine. I look into Your eyes and see myself there – never once leaving the centre of Your gaze. You look into my eyes and You perceive my soul – everything seen, and everything hidden – yes, even that which is hidden from me.

The LORD takes pleasure in those who fear Him, in those who hope in His steadfast love. – Ps 147:11

To you, O Lord, belongs righteousness… – Daniel 9:7

So create in me a clean heart, and renew a right spirit within me. Go right to the root. A heart once… now returns, not wanting You to be usurped again; a heart that wishes to pursue You like before. A heart that will hide in You, the only place that is safe. Only You can teach and shape this heart towards righteousness. It is otherwise an unattainable quest, a confounding mystery, a counter-intuitive thing for this heart of flesh.

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

