Lent (XIV) – Counter-seeing

Then Elisha prayed and said, “O LORD, I pray, open his eyes that he may see.” And the LORD opened the servant’s eyes and he saw; and behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha. – 2 Kings 6:17

*

Each wave of word & thought, met and overcome by far greater truths.

He knows the way to wherever you are
He knows the way to the depths of your heart
He knows the way ’cause he’s already been where you’re going
Jesus will meet you there. 
Whatever valley you must walk through,
Jesus will meet you there.

*

SM and I don’t write often. But got an email yesterday. She’d read and thought of me:

“The LORD directs the steps of the godly.
He delights in every detail of their lives.
Though they stumble, they will never fall,
for the LORD holds them by the hand.”
– Ps 37:23–24

Writing I’d missed, which I tried to ‘catch up’ on.

In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength (Isa 30:15). What difficulties are you facing today? Bring them before the Lord, trust in Him and rest, knowing that He loves you and is waiting to extend His grace to you.  … … Dear Lord, when the darkness that surrounds me threatens to consume me, help me to look back at the wonders that have been wrought by your mighty hand; and to look forward to the day when you shall right all wrongs and bring evil (esp. ‘enemies’ within, italics mine) to an eternal end. Amen. [Clarissa Lim, Proofed]

Today’s lectionaries:

…”But this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel after those days,” declares the Lord, “I will put My law within them and on their heart I will write it; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people. They will not teach again, each man his neighbour and each man his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they will all know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them,” declares the LORD, “for I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.” – Jer 31:33-34

In the days of His flesh, He offered up both prayers and supplications with loud crying and tears to the One able to save Him from death, and He was heard because of His piety. Although He was a Son, He learned obedience from the things which He suffered. And having been made perfect, He became to all who obey Him the source of eternal salvation, being designated by God as a high priest according to the order of Mechizedek. – Heb 5:7-9

Lent devotional for today:

How can a young man keep his way pure?
By guarding it according to Your Word.
With my whole heart I seek You;
Let me not wander from Your commandments!
I have stored up Your word in my heart,
That I might not sin against You.
Blessed are you, O LORD;
Teach me Your statutes!
With my lips I declare
All the rules of your mouth.
In the way of your testimonies I delight
As much as in all riches.
I will meditate on your precepts
And fix my eyes on your ways.
I will delight in your statutes;
I will not forget your word.
– Ps 119:9-16 

Does the Word of God so inform our minds, mould our conscience and fill our hearts that we may be constantly guided and directed by it in our daily speech and conduct, and in our thoughts and attitudes? The Word of God is like a handrail along a narrow and dangerous path in the mountain. It guards us from falling down the slopes of sin and keeps us to the path of righteousness. [Kua Wee Seng, United Bible Societies]

A stranger’s post, in a very unexpected place – a gathering of professional acquaintances:

He Will Finish

“Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus” – Phil 1:6

… Don’t get discouraged. God is going to finish what He started! He is a faithful God, and He has something unmatched, unparalleled coming your way — favor, breakthroughs, restoration like you haven’t seen before! … If you keep standing in faith, I believe you’re going to come into more of those days where you stand in utter amazement and say, “Wow, God! I’ve never seen anything like this before!” Remember, Scripture says, “Is there anything too hard for the Lord?” No, nothing is impossible when we put our faith and trust in Him. Keep standing today, keep believing, keep hoping because God has something astounding in store for your future!

Friends riding the wave with me:

“I am the door; if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly. I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep.” –  John 10:9-11

“Submit therefore to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.” – James 4:7-8

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might. Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. Stand firm therefore, HAVING GIRDED YOUR LOINS WITH TRUTH, and HAVING PUT ON THE BREASTPLATE OF RIGHTEOUSNESS, and having shod YOUR FEET WITH THE PREPARATION OF THE GOSPEL OF PEACE; in addition to all, taking up the shield of faith with which you will be able to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take THE HELMET OF SALVATION, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.” – Eph 6:10-17

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

2 comments

  1. Hi Lilac Butterfly (I love that name!),

    This is great! Thanks for the reminder of Psalm 37:23-24 today.

    Blessings!
    Lori

Leave a Reply

