Lent (XVI) – At the foot of the Cross

“You are forgiving and good, O Lord, abounding in love to all who call to you.” – Ps 86:5 

“When we are aware that there are things within us that can cause us spiritual shipwreck, we drop our anchor at the cross, there is forgiveness to be found at the Cross of Jesus.”

How can we hesitate to draw near? God is nigh to forgive, to bless, to comfort, to help, to quicken, to deliver. Let it be the main point with us to get near to God. This done, all is done. If we draw near to others, they may before long grow weary of us and leave us; but if we seek the LORD alone, no change will come over His mind, but He will continue to come nearer and yet nearer to us by fuller and more joyful fellowship. – Spurgeon

LORD, You have a plan for my life. It is only by Your power that I can fulfill the destiny You have for me – not by anything within or around me. Your streams of grace avail, and I want to draw upon the life You give. There are many lies around me – and within. Help me to recognize them and renounce them, for they do not come from You, and they are meant to destroy communion with and trust in You. That must not happen. “Help me to have true knowledge of You. I renounce every fear that assails me because You, O Lord have not given me a spirit of fear, but of power, love and self-control. I choose to live by faith in You, Almighty God. Please give me discernment to see things from Your perspective. You alone can meet my deepest needs of life, acceptance, identity, security and significance. Amen.”

*

At The Foot of The Cross (Kathryn Scott)

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

