Skunkwworks 07: Hand-eye coordination

There’s a good reason why I don’t drive, can’t cycle and dance with two left feet.

Balance (rather, the lack of), and hand-eye coordination (yes, the lack of, too) :p

Boo might just change all that.

     

Had so much fun today, although it was challenging to draw on one plane and keep my gaze on another plane. Some kind of disconnect going on there. But I started getting used to it. The lines became smoother, drawings took a shorter time, and I began to appreciate the quirky ‘beauty’ of the shaky & uneven strokes.

A world of possibilities has opened up.

*

The self-imposed tutorial today also made me wonder about the parallels between drawing on a Wacom tablet, and the spiritual life.

It really is possible to be “doing” on one plane, and “being” (‘gazing upon’) on another plane. Will feel the disconnect – a sense of being very present in the “doing”, yet focused somewhere else too.

An even more interesting thought: if I first keep my eyes on the screen (which is where I can see the result of my stylus work), my fingers and hands eventually figure out the ‘right’ way to move and stay on the tablet top. Conversely, if I keep looking at my fingers and hands drawing invisible lines on the tablet top, I’ll never get the on-screen picture right.

I know who’s on the screen of my spiritual life.

Who’s on yours?

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

