Deep peace

It’s hard to describe, much less explain: Today I felt deep peace.

Nothing much had changed externally. In some sense, you could even say some things had become ‘worse’.

But there it was – unspoken, unchanging truth that only the heart recognises.

No one had preached a sermon to me. I had not read any books or a particular passage. I had not heard or seen anything especially moving or inspirational. I had only prayed a hard prayer in the hot and humid morning, with some trembling. For God to take over the day and let it be as He would have it.

Quite suddenly, an old tune came to mind. And the more it played in my mind, the more my heart recognised and rejoiced in deep peace.

 

A Gaelic Blessing (John Rutter)

 

And I thanked God for the foundation He laid many years ago. To come home to old music and discover new and deeper meanings – what an unexpected blessing. What I diligently and passionately sang in youthful spirit, I now fervently and gratefully know with my much-more-grown-up heart.

 

Esurientes (John Rutter)

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

