The ministry of encouragement

Do you believe that God is watching your every step, and knows your every thought – even better than you can hope, or understand yourself?

I do.

And if I’d for a moment forgotten that, He displayed His incredibly tender love with a laugh today.

Everyday, I have lots of thoughts. On lots of things. Most of them pulse with a life of their own. And they fly in myriad directions, linking up/ leading to and from each other in deliciously lateral ways. Often, they are triggered by things I see, hear about, or remember; and people I meet. I hope for genius moments where they just strike me out of the blue, but naahhhh… usually some stimulus is present.

It’s inevitable that some of these thoughts are less happy than others. Rather than to aim to never have less-happy thoughts, the better way is to learn to manage them appropriately when they strike.

Today was a day when I was simply less-able to manage such thoughts as well as I’d like.

But God wasn’t less-able. He is never not able. 

He came, and left me grinning from ear to ear. He came in the form of old friends, and the simple words they brought.

I worry about you so much when I hear of everything you are doing. As always I will keep my prayers coming to you. Also, I will share with you my thankful list in the not too distant future. I have been doing it since Jan 1st. I love the task and I see themes that emerge obviously. I also like the positive link between doing the thankful list and praying. I am finding that praying is more than just asking for something.

*

Hi dear, thinking of you. Hope you’re having a good day so far. Remember this? 

Yes, of course I remember this 🙂 I still have mine too 🙂

*

I see. Yes it is His work! And because you are in Him, the true substance of who you really are will show up more and more through the refining. Because He removes all those impurities and leaves in you the good things 🙂

 

And you’d never guess what I re-discovered when I turned my journal back to the topic of this morning’s QT, just an hour ago:

“the ministry of encouragement”

Indeed 🙂

Never make light of that prompting to contact a friend and ask a simple “How are you?”

You do not how much it could mean to the person you are gifting.

*

O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
You understand my thought from afar.
You scrutinize my path and my lying down,
And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
Even before there is a word on my tongue,
Behold, O Lord, You know it all.
You have enclosed me behind and before,
And laid Your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is too high, I cannot attain to it.
– Ps 139:1-6 

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

6 comments

  1. Hi Carol, I just found you, so pardon me while I look around. But your message rang a bell. Can I just add, when someone is on your mind..give them a call or email. I’ve often found out the hard way that sometimes a person is on my mind for a reason I don’t know yet. Strange how it works. Thanks for the nudge to action.

  2. Hi Carol!

    Thanks, I am well in the Lord 🙂
    So I hear! Wow. And summer is just beginning…
    Good for you – congrats! Sounds like an interesting course. I guess you’ll be planning other courses for Fall/Winter?

  3. thanks clotildajamcracker!

  4. Carol

    Hi Wendy,
    Thanks for this timely reminder!
    We must remain vigilant at all times for His sake.
    Trust that you and yours are keeping well.
    It’s extremely HOT here right now for Ottawa….30+ plus the humidity!
    I just completed the first course in pastoral care with the United Church here in Ottawa.
    Very practical information!!
    Keep up the kneeling before our God!
    In Him,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

