It’s either manna or Canaan’s produce

My God Shall Provide
TGIF Today God Is First Volume 1,
by Os Hillman (
06-25-2012)

“And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” Phil 4:19

Have you ever gone through a time of complete dependence on God for your material needs? Perhaps you lost a job and could not generate income on your own. Perhaps you got sick and could not work. There are circumstances in our lives that can put us in this place.

When God brought the people of Israel out of Egypt through the desolate desert, they had no ability to provide for themselves. God met their needs supernaturally each day by providing manna from Heaven. Each day they would awake to one day’s portion of what they needed. This was a season in their lives to learn dependence and the faithfulness of God as provider. By and by, they entered the Promised Land. When they did, God’s “supernatural provision” was no longer required. “The manna stopped the day after they ate this food from the land; there was no longer any manna for the Israelites, but that year they ate of the produce of Canaan” (Josh. 5:12). In both cases God was the provider of the need.

For most of us, we derive our necessities of life through our work. Like the birds of the fields we are commanded to go out and gather what God has already provided. It is a process of participation in what God has already provided. Sometimes it appears it is all up to us; sometimes it appears it is all up to God. In either case we must realize that the Lord is our provider; the job is only an instrument of His provision. He requires our involvement in either case.

“You may say to yourself, ‘My power and the strength of my hands have produced this wealth for me.’ But remember the Lord your God, for it is He who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms His covenant, which He swore to your forefathers, as it is today” (Deuteronomy 8:17-18).

Acknowledge the Lord as the provider of every need you have today. He is a faithful provider.

*

It’s been a long while.

I’ve missed my kitchen – and the part of me that it calls out.

Partly because I’ve lost a bit of personal shine the last couple of months – though it’s early days yet to say if that part of the journey has been “good” or “bad”. … Partly because I’ve been busy with the challenges of this new season, and more than a little tired (and frazzled!). Partly because the inevitable thrills & spills of this season have left me with stark questions (and answers) about things that have to be stripped away.

“Just for now” or “new normal”?

I don’t know.

I’m just thankful that I had the grace of a whole year of unpaid leave just before this, to get used to not having/wanting lots of stuff. Even so, it is still difficult. Not so much because of what I give up, but because of the things I’m no longer as able to do for the people I love.

New ways of thinking and deciding apply not just to the work tasks of this new season, but also to everyday choices. Like taking a whole day and night to think about whether to buy that box of fresh rosemary – because the cost of it could actually buy a full meal at the hawker centre. And when I actually bought it, feeling guilty about spending frivolously. Then making sure no leaf went to waste.

Baking/cooking had become and felt less and less expensive over the last decade as I became more and more able to spend time and resources on it. In many ways, I’m now returning to how I used to feel about each baking/cooking outing – a rare treat, a relative “splurge”, rather than a regular hobby.

“Just for now” or “new normal”?

I don’t know.

So the comforting reminder above brought renewed strength.

I look forward to seeing God’s manna in endlessly creative forms. Better remember to ask Him for the recipes 🙂

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

