What makes you happy?

There’s been a lot of talk about happiness recently. Or, should I say, the talk about happiness has been going on for a long time, but is now happening on new platforms and given fresh legitimacy.

It is good.

I watch, listen, read what is happening, and I am glad.

Not because I have things burning in my heart that I want surfaced and addressed in this season. (I’ve quite a realistic view: the issues that affect me most at this juncture – invisible chronic illness & singleness – are unlikely to be addressed at broad levels any time soon. There are other priorities.) Not because I have a dream to play a huge role in The Conversation.

I am glad because whatever the result of all that is happening, surely at least a few more people will be wakeful.

Stop. AskWhat is happiness to me? Who am I becoming? What or who do people see through me? What do I leave behind for those who come after me?

(And other such uncomfortable questions that take one down into the shadows, in order to reach up to light again.)

Then, Choose. Bearing in mind that doing nothing about what one newly knows is still, a choice.

*

At the cusp of a new season. The season will bring KK many discoveries, dreams, dangers, dis-appointments and decisions. Each will have, hidden within it, some insight about happiness… and significance, fulfillment, meaning and identity. A good journey will allow him to gain more of these insights. (A good journey is not necessarily the easiest or shortest one though!) I pray he will have an excellent journey.

A home-made angpow (red packet) for the start of the journey then 🙂

FM:   Why you don’t write something like 事业有成 (success in career) instead?
LB:   Because if his body, heart and mind are healthy, he will naturally succeed in whatever he does.

*

“What about the destination?”

It seems to me that there are ‘destinations’ we arrive at which serve as landmarks, signalling different seasons. There are also ‘destinations’ we will never know – because they don’t have a place in our hearts, or are places we find ourselves dis-appointed from. Yet other ‘destinations’ are realities that we didn’t know to dream, but on hindsight say, “He truly taught us to desire better things.”

And then there is the ‘destination’ where God Himself is the goal.

I find that the more I hold this final destination before me, the dimmer the other destinations become.

I know what makes me happy – regardless of discoveries, dreams, dangers, dis-appointments and decisions.

Do you?

 

我心所求 – My Heart Longs For

我深渴慕 唯一渴慕
耶稣 与你同行的生命多满足

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

