Amber: I’m on the way home

It is a tricky stance. Looking back enough to remember the truth. Facing the future and eyeing the truth. And the most difficult bit – being in the present and living out the truth, in Shalom.

By grace alone, I can take my heart from where it is lodged in the past, lift my eyes and mind off what is happening in the present, and place them onto the reality that gets closer with every passing day.

*

Je: “Godma, do you believe in Jesus and God?”

LB: “Yes sweetheart, I believe in Jesus and God 🙂 And I believe in the Holy Spirit too.”

Je: “… and then we will all go up to heaven!”

Ej: “We will go up with jetpacks!”

Ej: “It’s a traffic light, Godma!”

LB: “LOL! Oh yes, it is, Ethan 🙂 That’s very observant of you. I didn’t notice…”

*

Amber.

So hold on to the right things (Matt 6:19-21), and steward all the resources He gives me, well. No matter how little they may seem to be.

Steward money, time, energy, attention, thoughts, emotions.

Not just the choices I make, but also the attitudes with which I make them: honesty, single-heartedness toward God, humility and joy.

Joy, because I know what is, now, will give way to what is to come, which will last forever.

After all, when the time comes, I can take nothing with me. Just strap on my jetpack and head home 🙂

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

3 comments

  1. This is the third time I’m seeing a visual of owl today. Morning my nephew was playing with his new owl puppet, afternoon my fren posted on fb a snack for her boys arranged into shape of owl. And now just before i go to bed, this.

    What a strange coincidence!

Leave a Reply

