Epiphany III: 约

I missed writing a New Year’s Day post. I really wanted to. But I couldn’t bring myself to. So I didn’t.

That, was the latest of many symptoms for me that things have not been well.

*

A few friends have asked me what my New Year resolutions are. I’ve told them honestly and without hesitation, that I have none. Not because I don’t believe in resolutions or always end up not fulfilling them. Just that the New Year period (which to me, is really Christmastide culminating in Epiphany Sunday) seems too significant to summarise in a list of ‘tasks’.

Don’t get me wrong. I fully support family & friends who have New Year resolutions – and love how inspiring their wishes can be! It’s just not something I do (anymore). The ‘tasks’ simply don’t do justice to what I’m thinking about and feeling during Christmastide. [If by ‘resolutions’ people mean ‘dreams’ – not to worry. I have many more of those than I have time & resources to fulfill!]

Some then gaze at me quizzically – and sometimes, with a look of concern.

“But surely you must have some plans?”

Yes, I do.

I plan to put my walk with God as first priority.

It’s my every-hour, every-day, every-week, every-month, every-year, every-5YRP (5 Year Rolling Plan), every-decade plan. Because I never seem to reach a point where I’m sure that He always comes first (Satan certainly sees to it that I have glorious failures on this count!). I take the Scripture that’s impressed upon my heart for the year, and this ‘plan’, and a fully-charged camera.

“And then?”

I don’t know. There is wisdom in the saying that ‘God will show you His paths, but never His plans‘. I guess it is ‘path’ that I’m choosing to focus on, believing that as I learn to do so, His plans will become clear when they need to be.

*

IMAG 1325 Life of Worship (6Jan13)

It’s Epiphany Sunday again. I read my last Epiphany entries, and the same passage again. It struck me differently once more.

After coming into the house they saw the Child with Mary His mother; and they fell to the ground and worshiped Him. Then, opening their treasures, they presented to Him gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. And having been warned by God in a dream not to return to Herod, the magi left for their own country by another way. – Matt 2:11-12

For in the day of trouble He will conceal me in His tabernacle; In the secret place of His tent He will hide me; He will lift me up on a rock. – Ps 27:5

The place of worship is a place of protection… and perception.

Worship places us to receive a covenantal God;

to be able to know with our hearts and say with our mouths:

When I am on my way to my Moriah, a ram is on the way too.

The place of worship proves that God keeps His promises.

上帝与我立下永远的约,这约稳妥可靠。祂必拯救我,成全我的愿望。(撒母耳记下 23:5)

(2 Samuel 23:5)

*

How will my understanding of ‘covenant’ be tested this year?

How will I continue living these ordained days, truly believing He is my covenant-keeping God?

What does a covenant-believing life look like?

There are still great and mighty things that I do not know.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

