Why should my heart be sad?

Preparing for Friday. At this stage, I’m picking suitable music for the reflections segment. That is good news – it means I’m on schedule. Either that, or I’m still procrastinating on the important but difficult pieces. Inert & sticky willpower. Like muah chee.

P1030616 Muah chee (15Jan13)

Oh well :p

Decided I’ll have Brian Thiessen on standby – seems appropriate. Especially like his arrangement of This Is My Father’s World.

It is such a lovely hymn. Used to sing it all the time in school – definitely during Founder’s Day. So, whenever I hear it, I remember Founder’s Day.

Hearing it again today – Brian’s arrangement – made me wistful. I hear it differently now.

It’s one thing to be a child and sing about rocks and trees, birds and carols, and a happy earth.

It’s another to be older and sing, when in the valleys, 

O let me ne’er forget
that though the wrong seems oft so strong,
God is the ruler yet.

Lord, for the grace of faith to trust You – and to decide to trust You again, and again, and again.

*

(I couldn’t find Brian’s arrangement on Youtube, but I did find another arrangement which was comforting in its own way too:)

 

This Is My Father’s World (Greg Howlett)

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

