A believing life (3)

P1030885 Thankful for friends 25Mar13

This morning I prayed for some uninterrupted time. And for my thoughts to be guided.

Looked back on the past weeks since starting Two, and my heart rested on many things. One of them was ‘friendship’.

Sometimes I wonder why my friends still friend me. I’m such a mess. Somedays I’m not sure I’d friend myself!

My friends have saintly patience. And strong stomachs.

I love how God speaks through them – and I give thanks for how they are willing for Him to work through them. Their remembering what He has done in their lives, and faith in affirming both the real difficulties but also the even more-real victory already won.

“… and I hummed it all day long after hearing it and I felt very at peace knowing I am being looked out for. He is looking out for you also.”

“Difficult as it has been for me life must go on. My prayers and those of our Church family are with you and I would love a hug and be able to give you one. It helps.”

“Amen! Let’s continue to allow God to renew our minds, and to discipline our mind to think of what is good, noble and praiseworthy. May our Lord also grant you a good night rest and strengthen your body.”

“You’re always in my prayers, dear, even we don’t see each other. God bless us… Don’t worry God is good… He will give you strength you need, keep holding on dear.”

“Lean on God for strength and perseverance.”

“… and it was too short to be in touch, but hope all things are as steady and well as they can be because you are in the Father’s hands! How are you, my dear.”

“Am reminded that all things are in God’s hands. His good hands.”

“The verse below has cropped up a few times this week during my reflection on the Lent materials….  “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the field produce no food… yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.”  Habakuk 3:17-18”

“I went to church – love it – we sang hymn 614 and I thought of you because you said often the hymns have good words and sayings and things to say and I agree.”

“I have a little poem that I tell myself frequently and it goes like this. Often on the rock I tremble, Weak of heart and faint of knee. But the steadfast Rock of ages never trembles under me. How true that is!”

Thank God for friendship.

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

