A believing life (10): Miracles

Surprise tea (2Aug13)

The word from her today was ‘walking miracle’.

She always does say the most unexpected things at the most unexpected times. We didn’t plan to meet at all – I just suddenly thought of asking her this morning, since I was in the area. Didn’t think she would be free, especially at such short notice. But she was. Even though it was delayed in the end, we had a nice chat at a place further down the road.

She is right, of course.

At any point, things could have easily just fallen apart.  这条命真的是捡回来的!

It should be encouraging to view the journey as a path dotted with miracles and God’s preservation.

*

P1040723 Cranberry cheese (28Jul13)

Life is really very different now.

I eat cautiously. Cranberry bread from a store, with sliced cheese, lightly toasted. It’s a luxury, a special treat. (And while I’m taking a photo of it, mentally calculating how much breakfast costs.)

I blog infrequently. Not because I’ve grown tired of it, but because by the time I get to it, it’s usually 2+am and my mind is blank.

I often feel unsafe on Facebook – there are friends and there are friends.

I still journal a lot – that seems to be a safe space. But few hear about those thoughts nowadays. It is true – “Never pass up an opportunity to shut up”.

I bake almost not at all – it’s just too expensive.

I would love to have a predictable, routine, stable week for a change.

Maybe the next dots on the path are on the way.

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

