Hard roads, Resonant hallelujahs

P1050757

So the year comes to an end.

December has been a wonderful month for me, long-awaited.

A complete cutoff from work. Time to gaze upon God, and breathe the slow rhythms of grace. Time with people I love. Just being. Heart-to-heart. Or if doing, then fun & silly stuff. Just being a friend. Little letters of seasons’ wishes – and lovely replies that come back. Deliberately ignoring a lot of other things, so that I can recentre instead of being bombarded with information, expectations and all the weird/unkind stuff that can happen online. Right reconnections and wise disconnections have been very good.

But it has been a difficult month for people I know and love.

And lest I forget, my wonderful December came after more than 11 tough months.

Too many moments when I questioned if or how we’d reach this final day. Issues of life and death – and the ever-present danger of slipping away from God – have become more real over time, as things happen around; and eternal realities are stark. Vacillations between Doubt and Covenant, Loneliness and Joy, Pain and Consolation, Danger and Safety.

Thank God for seeing me/us right through till this day.

He has really given me grace to show up each day. He has really ordered and secured all things for me. When my believing ran out, His love has run on. He still wanted to make His home  in my messy messy house. He has met the case of one poor worm like me, and dealt with me as only He can: as God my Father, Christ my Lord and Holy Spirit my guide.

“Has the Lord been good to you?”

The answer is always: Yes.

“Indeed, the Lord will give what is good,” – Psalm 85:12a 

So says my covenant-keeping God.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

  1. Thanks Maria! Happy New Year to you!

Leave a Reply

