Skunkwworks 14: Two

2 years. The studios is 2 years old today!

It feels like much longer. So many experiences.

Rewarding, regrettable, redeeming, restful… and reflective of who I am becoming.

I have known great grace and mercy.

welenia studios Happy 2nd Birthday

Am thankful. The past 2 months have been good. A few projects – am glad for provision. A few new relationships – am glad for connection. A few meetups – am blessed by old ties. A few mistakes – am acutely aware I need to be vigilant. A few new spaces – am glad for beginnings. A few reminders of my design and shape – still learning to be confident about who I truly am, in a world that applauds what I am not.

It’s not that January and February were trouble-free. The fighting goes on. But maybe one of the good things about the awfulness of 2013 is that it has recalibrated my views – about others, about myself, about living in Both-And and Now-&-NotYet. The battles feel familiar, but hopefully my responses will be better.

I have known great grace and mercy.

“I was overcome with emotion because I suddenly identified with these disabled individuals. Though I appear “able” bodied—of sound mind and well put together—I realized that I am just like they are. Like these disabled students who are broken in body and mind, I  have experienced grief in my life that has left me profoundly broken in spirit. As a result of this experience, there are times that I ramble on filling the air with meaningless pieties or pronouncements. Or I offer nothing but a blank stare when I should offer words of comfort. While my appearance is ordered, I am just as distorted and damaged on the inside, confused, and in need of care and oversight because of my disabilities. Though their eyes are vacant or their tongues loll, though they mumble meaningless phrases or say nothing at all, they are not so different from me nor am I from them.” – RZIM

“How often has the Lord met us when we have been alone!” – Spurgeon

*

“What are you adorned with?”

“What keeps you vain?”

“Who is your heart joined to?”

“Who are you called to be moved with compassion for?”

“Since you know there is less time ahead of you than behind, what will you do?”

“After you die, would others continue to be blessed by the way you had lived?”

“In the final analysis, will it be said of you: ‘Blessed be the Eternal One, whom her soul has loved!’?”

*

The Lord has generously and patiently reminded me of Himself the past 2 weeks.

And the Lord will continually guide you… (Isaiah 58:11)

More than once I have heard God say that power belongs to him and that his love is constant. (Psalm 62:11-12a)

Perhaps ‘Two’, is His gentle reminder that I do not walk alone.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

