Lent 2014: Desert Solace

Every year for the past 3 years, Lent has taken on a deeper meaning.

Maybe it has to do with seeing more grief – illnesses, accidents, deaths, betrayals, boastfulness, indifference, taunts, sadness.

But I’ve also seen unexpected good – small acts of kindness, turnarounds, sustenance, healing, humility, caring, provision, encouragement, joy.

They all add texture to Lent, and make me think about what the Lord went through. Not that I could actually know – His suffering was too great. But to think that He fully understands everything I’ve seen and felt, grief and good. And of course, the story didn’t end with His suffering. He lives! And we will too, because of His great love.

This year, Lent coincides with a new series of Reading Fellowship at TLC. I enjoyed the January/February series – we read a few desert Fathers and Mothers. This round, we are taking a closer look at Desert Spirituality.

I feel at home. The desert is a familiar place. The loneliness that blows like a cold wind over the busyness of the fruitful world, dances like a blissful child across the plains of barrenness. The desert is wilderness – and solace.

Who did I think God was?

Who am I learning He is?

Who did I use to be?

Who am I becoming, in my deserts?

*

“He shall not be afraid of evil tidings; his heart is fixed, trusting in the LORD” – Psalm 112:7 (GNT)

“He sends light to places dark as death.” – Job 12:22 (GNT)

“None of us can see our own errors; deliver me, LORD, from hidden faults! Keep me safe also, from willful sins;” – Psalm 19:12-13 (GNT)

“The Lord watches over those who obey him,
 those who trust in his constant love.
He saves them from death;
he keeps them alive in times of famine.

We put our hope in the Lord;
he is our protector and our help.
We are glad because of him;
we trust in his holy name.

May your constant love be with us, Lord,
as we put our hope in you.”
– Psalm 33:18-22 (GNT)

*

Rescue (Acapella)


Lord You know everything I’ve done
Every thought I’ve had, You know every one
And Lord You know every time I fall
Still You come to my rescue when I call

Lord You hear every idle word,
Every thoughtless deed, how it seems absurd
That Lord You give, not what I am due
But mercy; You come to my rescue

Lyrics

 

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

