Centrifugal heart. Centripetal Grace.

A sobering September of wakes.

From dust, to dust return.

Leaving a trail of love.

Hopefully.

The series of wakeful evenings and even more sobering mornings, brought many faces to mind. Those who passed many years ago; others more recently. Neighbours’ kids I used to play with. My teachers from school – who taught me to sing, and taught me to live. Ex-colleagues I shared everyday nearness with, the preciousness of the ordinary, unstated. Relatives whom I never really knew.

Mid-30s seems a mighty early time to say this, but: I’m just going to keep having more people to meet ‘on the other side’ than this side.

Reuniting in Love.

Hopefully.

For, What and who did they cross over to?

No one really knows when it’s time. Could be tomorrow… or tonight! So maybe it’s not too early to think about this. Again.

Teach us how short our life is,
So that we may become wise.
– Psalm 90:12 (GNT)

Believe on the LORD Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house. – Acts 16:31

*

P1070673 Sand plant 23Sep14

Dust, of a different kind.

Idyllic by any measure. But I was there for work, with a speedy schedule. So, took in what I could, didn’t fuss about missing the rest.

Coming back, some thoughts returned. Echo.

“It’s only your own sacrifices that show up at your funeral. Am I making any of the right ones?” – Ann Voskamp

“We also learned not to write all the way to the right-hand side, or to fill up the page from top to bottom. It was as if there were invisible margins all the way around the page. If we honoured them, our page looked neat and balanced. If we violated them, the page looked jammed and messy.” – Oboedire: Margins

Reminded of my commitment from the year’s beginning:

“Take Him with me!! … Enable me to live wisely in the hours and days ahead – knowing who and what to wisely spend on, wisely be spent on, wisely love, and also to wisely ignore and leave aside. What is priceless in my life? Enable me to focus on them. Not spend my life on a blur of things that leave me bankrupt. … To live as I shall wish I had lived, when I come to die. … You are my covenant-keeping God. May I live a covenant-believing life.” (1 January 2014)

It is good.

My centrifugal heart needs centripetal Grace, to keep circling enduring Love.

*

Ooh.

Tears.

Could it be the dust?

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

Leave a Reply

