Travelling Well

Farewell Mr Lee 3 fb

When my time comes, who would weep as if they’d lost their own family? Who would be grateful for my life – whether they agreed with my choices or not? Would they look at how I’ve loved, and see that I’ve been faithful till the last – big or small my portion be? What would I have given my life for? (24 March 2015)

*

Continued following updates this morning, on events across the island. Found rest in and inspiration from this article, and echoes of my own questions from earlier this week. I don’t think I know yet, the humility to live like that. To be so full of clarity of purpose; so given to the bigger story; so rich in witness.

A mighty man’s modest home (The New Paper)

Decided to pop by A Holy Experience – it’s been a while. A few loving emails – mix of devotionals and letters. And the voices of friends – each with their own stories of love, loss, and wilderness. More language for what is extremely difficult to do justice to in words. We are limited in our understanding. But Grace meets us.

“”I tell him it won’t be any time before we are reunited – but for the mortal it feels impossible to understand the close distance of eternity.” … Kara taught us all that: How to have an imagination for the grace that will meet us, how to unwrap the gift of wonder over the infinite, all this that has no finite end – how to travel well, right through to the end… to the end that ushers us into the beginning forever.” – (How to Recover the Lost Art of Dying Well: What Kara Tippetts Taught Us)

*

“Thought for the Day: We have freedom to pursue our faith today because of choices people made yesterday.” – (Things I Take For Granted)

*

“Blue never used to be my favourite colour. But I love it now, because when I carry a bit of blue, I take with me a bit of your grandmother.” – (Two years today)

*

Why should I be out of mind because I am out of sight?
I am but waiting for you, for an interval,
somewhere very near,
just round the corner.

All is well.
Nothing is hurt; nothing is lost.
One brief moment and all will be as it was before.
How we shall laugh at the trouble of parting when we meet again!

– (Death is Nothing At All. Harry Scott-Holland)

*

Remembering Lee Kuan Yew (Fly Away – Corrinne May, cover by Gem’s parents)

Grace meets us. Mercy too. New every morning, we are told. So we will travel well.

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

