Inspire : : Breathe

Spent the entire weekend working at the Be Inspired! conference at Tanglin, so it feels like a 14-day week. A bit disorienting. But it will pass. Many graces fill the hours, and white space-moments appear when they are needed. Am thankful to be aware of them. Devotionals, Scripture, books, news, messages, songs. Another letter to Little.

Little Letter 3 - Nov2015

Bless the window
Bless the door
Bless the ceiling
Bless the floor
Bless this place which is our home
Bless us as we go and come.
Bless the mess 
but make us strong
to put our things
where they belong.

God bless the house from roof to ground
With love encircle it around.
God bless each window, bless each door,
Be Thou our home forevermore.
–     Victoria Tebbs

*

Supposedly restful today, but there are preps for tomorrow morning’s session, and later this evening – meeting Alumni at RT’s mum’s wake. Very very sudden, just on Sunday evening. Lao Shi had just met her mum in church that very afternoon. Got a WhatsApp group message from Patster in the evening, hours after it happened. Will likely see Pungentsock and GoodHeart. Nightingale and Oinkoink too. And many others – much older, much younger – whose faces have faded from my mind over time. Actually, been thinking a lot about Alumni this year, after I started placing Pray As You Go in my mornings. I miss choral singing, and this family from that part of growing up.

*

“O Love that wilt not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in Thee,
I give Thee back the life I owe,
That in thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be.

“O Light that followest all my way,
I yield my flickering torch to Thee,
My heart restores its borrowed ray,
That in Thy sunshine’s blaze its day
May brighter, fairer be.

“O Joy that seekest me through pain,
I cannot close my heart to Thee,
I trace the rainbow through the rain,
And feel the promise is not vain,
That morn shalt tearless be.

“O Cross that liftest up my head,
I dare not ask to fly from Thee,
I lay in dust life’s glory dead,
And from the ground there blossoms red,
Life that shall endless be.”
–     George Mattheson

About lilac butterfly

Live. Love. Learn. Laugh. Write. Draw. Colour. Blend. Play. Dream. Cry. Reflect. Pray. Sing. Worship. Bake. Cook. Rest. Give thanks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

